DIY Beauty Masks

This afternoon at work was a wee bit stressful.

I came home and knew I needed to do something for myself to make me feel special again. Give myself a little love, ya know?

I decided it would be fun to have a “me” night. On the agenda?

  • hair mask
  • face mask
  • catching up on blogs
  • blogging
  • & doing our monthly finances (which to me, is fun)

I thought it would be fun to share my all natural hair & face masks with you guys, so here goes:

Face Mask

I saw Kathy Freston on a talk show discussing this mask and have used it a couple of times since. If you have oily skin, the scrub will absorb oil. If you have dry skin, the scrub will moisturize the skin.

IMG_1826

Ingredients:
6 tsp. white rice flour
5 tsp. soy milk

Directions:
Wash your face.  When ready to use, mix the two ingredients together and slather all over your face. Let it sit on your face for 20 minutes (it’s normal for it to harden & for you to look like a fool 😉 ).  When you wash it off, scrub in a circular motion to exfoliate. You can use this mask once or twice a week.

Avocado Hair Mask

I truly love this mask.  It makes my hair so silky and banishes my dry scalp to far-away land.

IMG_1825

Ingredients:
1-2 avocados (I use two because my hair is a bit longer)
1 large egg
1 1/2 tbsp. extra virgin olive oil

Directions:
In a food processor (or blender) mix the three ingredients until there are no chunks left. 

Wet hair with warm water.  Put the avocado mixture on hair and massage it into your scalp. Leave the mask on hair for 20 minutes (with a shower cap on!).

Shampoo/Condition/Style your hair as normal!


Let me know in the comments if you try either mask and what you think!

2 thoughts on “DIY Beauty Masks

Let me know what you think in the comments section.

