Change of Plans

There’s a quote I’ve heard that goes “Want to hear God laugh? Tell him your plans.”

I had been training for my first half marathon.  I was beyond excited and incredibly nervous at the same time.  I was following a training plan, taking ice baths, and doing tons of yoga/stretching.

On June 16, 2012 I ran 7.0 miles and felt great.  It was a little tough but I was so happy I got through it.

The next day I woke up, went to walk downstairs and felt my knees click as I went down each step. A couple of times it almost felt like my knees were going to give out.

I played soccer when I was younger for 10+ years and I ended up quitting the sport because for the last 3-4 years, I couldn’t get through a season without one or both of my knees popping during a game. Anytime one would pop, I would have three weeks of a swollen knee and me hobbling around.

I hadn’t felt the kind of sensations in my knees that I was feeling in my knees on June 17 since I was 16 years old playing soccer which really scared me.

I was excited to be training for a half marathon, but if this was the trade off, I was no longer going to be interested.

On June 17 I started physiotherapy and have gone a total of four times since (with another appointment coming up this Tuesday).  My physiotherapist hasn’t cleared me to start running yet, he just wants me to build more strength in my hips and to foam roll my IT bands.

With 40 days to go (& being more or less sedentary for the last two weeks) I’m withdrawing myself from competing in the half marathon.

Am I sad? I was for a moment because initially I felt as if I had failed. I quickly came to realize though that being injured and taking care of myself is not the same as quitting. 

What about the race fee ($128!)?  Training for the half marathon gave me confidence, made me feel proud of myself, made me fall in love with running, and gave me some independence.  To me, those four things are worth more then $128.00

I hope that in another week or so I will be cleared to begin running again because I do miss it. 

For the rest of my summer I am looking forward to living life and being present.  I’m going to try to go with the flow more though, and live life day to day.

If you’re interested, here is a interesting article on allowing things to happen.

P.S. Happy Canada Day! 🙂

One thought on “Change of Plans

  1. Pingback: Wanted: Inspiration « Simplicitlee

Let me know what you think in the comments section.

